記住一個真正的飢餓鬥士——女士。瑪麗

瑪麗女士與前達拉斯牛仔隊球員普雷斯頓皮爾森在 2016 年被授予邁克斯奈德年度志願者獎後。

瑪麗,或者我們一直稱呼她的瑪麗女士,是北德克薩斯食品銀行的傳奇人物。

當她加入NTFB與飢餓作鬥爭時,她迅速俘獲了周圍所有人的心。她開始在我們科克雷爾山的設施中擔任志願者,每週五天打包箱子並帶領志願者隊伍,記錄了超過 12,000 小時的志願者服務。 

作為生產車間的常客,她成為了團隊中的一員……以至於她在 2018 年成為一名生產助理時成為了 NTFB 的正式員工。瑪麗女士是天生的合適人選,因為這個角色需要她的頭、心和手,她熱情地把這三樣都給了。志願者要求在她的路線上工作,因為除了明確的方向外,她很容易吸引來NTFB的人,以她獨特的瑪麗女士方式服務,魅力和坦率。

她總是表現出積極的態度,特別喜歡學生志願者的領導。這可能來自她在達拉斯 ISD 擔任教育工作者 28 年的職業生涯,這讓她有耐心和專業知識來領導我們最年輕的助手。她是我們學校團體和童子軍中的名人,經常被要求與他們合影並提供簽名。我們知道,瑪麗女士是他們在 NTFB 志願者經歷中的亮點之一。

我們的志願者在提供關於志願者輪班的反饋時,經常會提到瑪麗女士。最近的一些評論包括——

  • 愛瑪麗!她對食物銀行非常了解,使整個過程成為一次愉快的經歷。
  • 我媽媽是從 NTFB 收到一個盒子的老人之一。我感謝你給她的幫助。瑪麗女士以這種方式幫助我回饋。我期待再次與她合作。
  • 瑪麗很愉快,讓志願者轉變對我們的學生有意義,他們正在學習為他人服務的重要性。她幫助他們了解有像他們這樣的孩子需要這種食物。

當瑪麗女士讓她的志願者工作時,她確保他們理解他們通過代表那些努力將飯菜上桌的人熱情地倡導他們所產生的影響。她有目的地服務,並確保她遇到的人受到啟發去做同樣的事情。她是一個嚴肅的線領導。有一次,她把一位與她的志願者合影留念的民選官員推開,因為他們有工作要做。社區裡的人都餓了。

瑪麗女士於 2015 年在我們舊的科克雷爾山地點做志願者。

瑪麗女士也信守諾言,總是出現。即使當北德克薩斯食品銀行搬到位於普萊諾的新佩羅家庭校園時,她仍然繼續出現,經常乘坐公共汽車併步行最後半英里。即使在德克薩斯州博覽會上那些漫長而炎熱的日子裡,她也和她的丈夫一起出現,收集罐頭食品,這些罐頭會送給我們飢餓的鄰居。即使當她的健康狀況開始惡化並且她會從坐姿帶領她的隊伍時,她還是出現了。瑪麗女士對我們所服務的人盡心盡力。

雖然她很謙虛,也不為自己的工作尋求認可,但瑪麗女士還是 2016 年邁克·斯奈德年度志願者獎的獲得者。媒體也注意到了她無與倫比的奉獻精神,因為她被 Fox 4 評為“家鄉” 2018 年的英雄”。 

NTFB 總裁兼首席執行官 Trisha Cunningham 表示:“所有認識 Mary 女士的人都喜歡她作為飢餓鬥士的熱情。作為一名屢獲殊榮的志願者和敬業的工作人員,她是我們核心價值觀的光輝典範。她盡可能地工作,克服多重障礙,幫助我們為盡可能多的飢餓鄰居提供服務。”

瑪麗女士的食物銀行家庭、她接觸的數万名志願者以及所有因她的貢獻而獲得營養食品的人都因此變得更加強大。我們會非常想念她的存在和她的心,但會慶祝她的遺產和她對北德克薩斯產生的影響。瑪麗女士將永遠是飢餓英雄。

2017 年,瑪麗女士與一些她最喜歡的 NTFB 員工和志願者。

分享:

Remembering a True Hunger Fighter—Ms. Mary

Ms. Mary with former Dallas Cowboys player, Preston Pearson, after she was awarded the Mike Snider Volunteer of the Year Award in 2016.

Mary, or Ms. Mary as we always referred to her, was a legend at the North Texas Food Bank.

When she joined NTFB’s fight against hunger, she quickly captured the hearts of all those around her. She started as a volunteer in our Cockrell Hill facility, packing boxes and leading lines of volunteers five days a week, logging more than 12,000 hours of volunteer service. 

As a regular on the production floor, she became one of the team….so much so that she became an official NTFB employee in 2018 when she moved into a role of a production associate. Ms. Mary was a natural fit as this role required her head, heart and hands and she passionately gave all three. Volunteers requested to work on her line because in addition to clear direction, she easily engaged those who came to the NTFB to serve in her unique Ms. Mary way, with charm and candor.

Always demonstrating a positive attitude, she particularly loved leading lines of student volunteers. This likely came from her 28-year career as an educator in the Dallas ISD which gave her the patience and know-how to lead our youngest helpers. She was a celebrity among our school groups and Scout troops and was frequently asked to pose for pictures with them and provide autographs. We know that Ms. Mary was one of the highlights of their volunteer experience with the NTFB.

Our volunteers would often cite Ms. Mary when they provided feedback on their volunteer shift. A couple of recent comments included—

  • Love Mary! She is so knowledgeable about the food bank and made the entire process an enjoyable experience.
  • My mom was one of the elderly that received a box from the NTFB. I thank you for the help you gave her. Ms. Mary helped me give back in this way. I look forward to working with her again.
  • Mary was delightful and made the volunteer shift meaningful for our students, who are learning the importance of serving others. She helped them understand that there were children like them who were in need of this food.

When Ms. Mary put her volunteers to work, she made sure that they understood the impact they were making by being a passionate advocate on behalf of those struggling to put meals on the table. She served with purpose and ensured those she encountered were inspired to do the same.  She was a no-nonsense line leader. On one occasion, she hustled an elected official posing for a photo opportunity with her volunteers out of the way because they had work to do. People in the community were hungry.

Ms. Mary volunteering at our old Cockrell Hill location in 2015.

Ms. Mary was also true to her word and always showed up. Even when the North Texas Food Bank moved to its new Perot Family Campus in Plano, she continued to show up, frequently taking the bus and walking the last half mile. Even during those long, hot days at the State Fair of Texas, she showed up with her husband in tow, to collect cans upon cans of food that would go to our hungry neighbors. And even when her health started to fail her and she would lead her line from a seated position, she showed up. Ms. Mary was that committed to those that we serve.

While she was humble and didn’t seek recognition for her work, Ms. Mary was the recipient of the Mike Snider Volunteer of the Year Award in 2016. The media also noticed her unparalleled commitment as she was recognized by Fox 4 as a “Hometown Hero” in 2018. 

According to Trisha Cunningham, NTFB’s President and CEO, “All who knew Ms. Mary loved her passion as a hunger fighter. As an award-winning volunteer and dedicated staff member, she was a shining example of our core values. She worked as long as she could, overcoming multiple barriers, to help us serve as many hungry neighbors as possible.”

Ms. Mary’s food bank family, the tens of thousands of volunteers she touched and all those that received nutritious food as a result of her contributions are stronger as a result.  We will dearly miss her presence and her heart, but will celebrate her legacy and the impact she made on North Texas. Ms. Mary will forever be a Hunger Hero.

Ms. Mary with some of her favorite NTFB staff and volunteers in 2017.