在 Covid-19 期間餵養無家可歸者

對於北德克薩斯食品銀行來說,確保我們飢餓的鄰居吃飽是重中之重。對於我們最脆弱的人群之一——北德克薩斯的大量無家可歸者來說尤其如此。

幾週前有關該病毒的報導開始時,達拉斯市聯繫了食品銀行,以製定一項計劃,以幫助養活我們的無家可歸的鄰居。隨著收容所的關閉,城市以安全的方式照顧我們的無家可歸者非常重要。

今天早上,食品銀行向達拉斯市無家可歸者解決方案辦公室的無家可歸者臨時收容所進行了第一次交付。

為了保護收容所的居民,在進入之前對個人進行篩查,只有沒有症狀的人才能進入。任何出現症狀的人都會被送往醫院接受治療或被送往不同的地點以避免其他疾病。

作為北德克薩斯食品銀行倉庫管理局的負責人,除了我在食品銀行的正常職責外,我還有幸在發生災難時成為該市的聯繫人。

作為這項工作的一部分,我最近作為達拉斯縣分會的副主席擔任了積極參與災難組織的志願組織 (VOAD) 的領導角色——我們的主要職責是確保北德克薩斯地區為事件做好準備一場災難。

除了活躍在 VOAD 之外,食品銀行還是大眾關懷工作組的活躍成員,這是一個由 NTFB、美國紅十字會、救世軍和志願者組成的聯盟——我們一起進行了演習以準備應對災難,並積極響應颶風哈維。冠狀病毒與正常的災難不同,我們預計其影響將是廣泛的。

雖然這是一個令人不安的時刻,但也是一個團結的時刻。我在 NTFB 工作了幾年,沒有什麼比看到我們的團隊齊心協力滿足社區需求更讓我自豪的了。

我們需要您的支持來開展這項工作。

如果您有能力,請在以下地址捐款 ntfb.org/give.我們完全預計,在比以往任何時候都更需要食物和資金捐贈的情況下,這些捐贈會減少。

我們一起是北德克薩斯強。感謝您對 NTFB 的支持。

丹尼福爾曼
倉庫管理主管  

分享:

Feeding the Homeless During Covid-19

For the North Texas Food Bank, ensuring our hungry neighbors are fed is a top priority. This is especially true for one of our most vulnerable populations- the substantial homeless population in North Texas.

When the reports about the virus began a few weeks ago, the City of Dallas contacted the Food Bank to develop a plan to help feed our homeless neighbors. With shelters closing, it was important that the city care for our homeless population in a safe way.

This morning, the Food Bank made our first delivery to the City of Dallas Office of Homeless Solutions’ temporary shelter for the homeless.

In an effort to safeguard the residents of the shelter, individuals are screened before entry, and only those that are not symptomatic are allowed entry. Any individual that is showing symptoms are sent to a hospital for treatment or sent to a different location to avoid additional illnesses.

As the Warehouse Administration lead for the North Texas Food Bank, in addition to my normal duties at the Food Bank, I have the privilege of being the contact for the city in the event of a disaster.

As part of this work, I recently took on a leadership role with the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster organization (VOAD) as the Vice President of the Dallas County chapter– our primary role is to ensure that the North Texas region is ready in the event of a disaster.

In addition to being active in VOAD, the Food Bank is an active member of the Mass Care Task Force, a coalition made up of NTFB, the American Red Cross, the Salvation Army and Volunteer Now- together we have done drills to prepare to respond to disaster, and were active in response to Hurricane Harvey. The Coronavirus is unlike a normal disaster and we expect the impact to be widespread.

While this is an unsettling time, it is also a time for solidarity. I have worked at NTFB for several years and nothing makes me prouder than seeing our team come together to meet the needs of the community.

We need your support to carry on this work.

If you are able, make a donation at ntfb.org/give. We fully anticipate a decline of donations of food and funds at a time where these are more needed than ever.

Together we are North Texas Strong. Thank you for supporting the NTFB.

Danny Foreman
Warehouse Administration Lead