庆祝我们的饥饿英雄

四月对我来说总是快乐的。那是因为四月是全国志愿者月,我们可以庆祝无数志愿者帮助食品银行实现我们创建无饥饿、健康的北德克萨斯的愿景。

我很荣幸能够担任志愿者体验专家,我在食品银行工作了近 6 年,在这段时间里,我能够向这么多敬业的志愿者学习。我们的许多食品银行志愿者几乎每天都来——我们为这个群体起了一个特殊的名字:内核。我们的内核是我们在 NTFB 运营中不可或缺的一部分,他们经常领导志愿者队伍并作为我们员工的延伸。

摆出饥饿英雄的姿势!

在 COVID-19 大流行开始时,我们知道我们需要暂时停止我们的志愿者行动。我知道这是确保我们能够继续安全地为我们的邻居服务的正确做法。我希望我们的志愿者知道,一旦我们能够恢复正常运作,我们将通知他们并张开双臂欢迎他们(并可能保持社交距离)。

我开始了解到为社区提供食物就像是一种召唤。这是我非常强烈的感受,我知道我们许多敬业的志愿者也有同样的感受。

从企业团体到学校,再到基于信仰的团体,再到我们的 Kernels,每个团体在我们养活社区的努力中都发挥着关键作用。由于去年的这种支持,我们能够提供 7700 万份餐食,今年我们将分发更多。

我和我们科克雷尔山工厂的一些志愿者一起珍惜这张照片。这五个令人难以置信的人类为支持我们的使命付出了数千小时的时间。

在轮班开始时看到我们志愿者眼中的决心是非常了不起的。他们开始工作时有节奏的动作,熟练地制作盒子,将物品放入盒子或袋子中 就这样.他们每个人都需要共同努力,以确保我们能够实现当天的目标。我迫不及待地想看到他们很快再次行动起来。

在此之前保持安全。您的北德克萨斯食品银行家人感谢您的奉献!

全国志愿者月快乐!

-Amanda Mota NTFB 志愿者体验专家

分享:

Celebrating our Hunger Heroes

The month of April is always joyous for me. That’s because April is National Volunteer Month, a time where we can celebrate the countless volunteers who help the Food Bank meet our vision of creating a hunger-free, healthy North Texas.

I feel privileged to serve as the Volunteer Experience Specialist, I have worked at the Food Bank for nearly 6 years and during this time I have been able to learn from so many dedicated volunteers. Many of our Food Bank volunteers come in almost every day- we have a special name for this group: Kernels. Our Kernels are an integral part of our operations at the NTFB, they often lead volunteer lines and serve as an extension of our staff.

Striking a hunger hero pose!

At the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, we knew that we would need to temporarily halt our volunteer operations. I know this was the right thing to do to make sure that we are able to continue to serve our neighbors safely. I want our volunteers to know that once we are able to return to normal operations, we will notify them and welcome each of them with open (and potentially socially distanced) arms.

I have come to learn that feeding the community is like a calling. It is one that I feel very strongly, and I know that many of our dedicated volunteers feel the same way.

From corporate groups, to schools to faith-based groups to our Kernels, each group plays a critical role in our efforts to feed the community. Thanks to this support last year we were able to provide 77 million meals and we will distribute even more than that this year.

I treasure this picture with some of our volunteers from our Cockrell Hill facility. These five incredible humans logged thousands of hours in support of our mission.

It is remarkable to see the determination in the eyes of our volunteers at the start of the shifts. Their rhythmic movements as they get started working, masterfully making boxes, placing items into boxes or bags just so. It takes each of them working together to ensure that we can meet our goal for the day. I can’t wait to see them in action again soon.

Until then stay safe. Your North Texas Food Bank family thanks you for your dedication!

HAPPY NATIONAL VOLUNTEER MONTH!

-Amanda Mota NTFB Volunteer Experience Specialist