倡导

帮助 NTFB 和科林县满足需求

从 COVID-19 大流行到冬季风暴停电,北德克萨斯食品银行及其许多敬业的志愿者在需要时团结起来帮助我们的邻居,不断展示我们社区的力量。在这段时间里,他们的辛勤工作仍然至关重要,因为我们州越来越多的人……

永久 SNAP 增加生效

8 月,联邦政府宣布将补充营养援助计划 (SNAP) 福利永久增加 25%,这是参与该计划的人的福利水平有史以来增幅最大的一次。此次涨价将于 10 月 1 日生效,也就是在大流行期间通过美国救援计划实施的临时 15% 涨价到期后的第二天。这…

扩大税收抵免正在减少儿童饥饿——但它可以做更多

上周,国会投票通过了一项变革性法案,除其他外,该法案将成为对抗儿童饥饿的有力新武器。北德克萨斯家庭于 2021 年 7 月首次开始获得扩大的儿童税收抵免,有助于抵消抚养孩子不断增长的成本。该计划已经证明了其......

新的 SNAP 法律标志着德克萨斯州第 87 届立法会议的结束

2021 年 5 月 31 日,德克萨斯州议会第 87 届会议落下帷幕。在这次会议期间,立法者、倡导者、说客和公众制定并制定了一些立法,他们要么希望这些立法成为德克萨斯州的法律,要么采取措施阻止它们成为法律。 2021 年 6 月 16 日,其中一个……

NTFB 立法优先事项

北德克萨斯食品银行不断与地方、州和联邦官员合作,推进政策解决可能导致饥饿的复杂问题。宣传工作不仅对于消除饥饿对身心健康的影响,而且对于粮食不安全对我们社区造成的经济损失都至关重要。根据喂养德克萨斯州的说法,......

感恩系列:倡导伙伴

今年肯定会因其挑战而被铭记。但它也将因那些减轻他人负担和我们社区的弹性而闻名。随着感恩节临近,我们想花时间承认并感谢许多在北德克萨斯食品银行至关重要的合作伙伴……

NTFB 在虚拟倡导周期间解决额外的 SNAP 资金问题

为了全面解决我国当前的公共卫生和饥饿经济危机,补充营养援助计划 (SNAP) 的最大福利需要增加 15%。这是北德克萨斯食品银行代表在最后喂食美国的虚拟飞行期间向联邦政府官员传达的优先信息……

食品银行需要国会通过更多 SNAP 资金帮助缩短排队时间

它已成为 COVID-19 视觉历史的一部分:数百辆汽车的航拍照片,它们排队等候食物银行的帮助。全国各地的停车场都布满了纯粹需要的蜿蜒线,即使是最有经验的慈善救济老手也足以惊慌失措。在德克萨斯州,大城市地区的食品银行……

Advocacy

Helping NTFB and Collin County Meet the Need

From the COVID-19 pandemic to the winter storm power outages, the North Texas Food Bank and their many dedicated volunteers continuously demonstrate the strength of our community by coming together to help our neighbors in times of need. Their hard work remains crucial during this time as more and more people across our state are…

Permanent SNAP Increase Takes Effect

In August, the Federal Government announced a permanent 25% increase in Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits, the largest-ever increase in benefit levels for people participating in the program. The increase takes effect October 1, a day after the expiration of the temporary 15% increase put in place during the pandemic through the American Rescue Plan. The…

Expanded Tax Credit is Reducing Child Hunger – But It Can Do Much More

Last week, Congress voted to proceed on a transformative bill that would, among other things, keep a potent new weapon in the fight against child hunger. The expanded Child Tax Credit, which North Texas families first began receiving in July 2021, helps offset the growing cost of raising kids. The program has already proven its…

New SNAP Law Marks End of the 87th Texas Legislative Session

On May 31, 2021, the 87th Texas Legislature session came to an end. During this meeting, law makers, advocates, lobbyists, and the public developed and worked on pieces of legislation that they either hoped would become Texas law or took steps to prevent them from becoming law. And on June 16, 2021, one of the…

NTFB Legislative Priorities

The North Texas Food Bank continually works with local, state and federal officials to advance policies that address the complexities that can lead to hunger. Advocacy work is vital to combat not just the physical and mental health impacts of hunger, but the economic toll food insecurity has in our communities. According to Feeding Texas,…

Thankful Series: Advocacy Partners

This year will certainly be remembered for its challenges. But it will also be known for those who eased the burden for others and for the resiliency of our communities. As we approach Thanksgiving, we want to take the time to recognize and thank the many North Texas Food Bank partners who are critical in carrying…

NTFB Addresses Additional SNAP Funding During Virtual Advocacy Week

To fully address the current public health and economic crisis of hunger in our country, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) maximum benefit needs to be increased by 15 percent.   This was the priority message communicated by North Texas Food Bank representatives to federal government officials during Feeding America’s Virtual Fly-In at the end…

Food banks need Congress to help shorten lines with more SNAP funding

It has become a piece of COVID-19’s visual history: aerial photos of hundreds of cars lined up to receive help from food banks. Parking lots across the nation are covered with snaking lines of pure need, enough to alarm even the most seasoned veterans of charitable relief. In Texas, food banks in large urban areas…