关于我们

北德克萨斯食品银行 (NTFB) 成立于 1982 年,是一家非营利性饥饿救济组织,通过由 13 个县的 200 多个合作机构组成的网络分发捐赠和购买的食品。

我们的历史

1982 年,四名达拉斯妇女承诺在德克萨斯州北部与饥饿作斗争。这些富有远见的领导人——乔柯蒂斯、凯瑟琳霍尔、洛林格里芬基尔彻和丽兹米亚德——开始通过北德克萨斯州的慈善组织网络收集和分发剩余食品和杂货产品,建立了北德克萨斯食品银行 (NTFB)。 

该网络覆盖了构成当前 NTFB 服务区的 13 个县:达拉斯、丹顿、科林、范宁、罗克沃尔、亨特、格雷森、考夫曼、埃利斯、纳瓦罗、拉马尔、三角洲和霍普金斯

通过坚持不懈和慷慨的社区支持,NTFB 在第一年就向饥饿的邻居分发了超过 400,000 磅的食物。 1983 年,NTFB 组织委员会的成员与德克萨斯州立法机构的成员一起帮助通过了“善意捐赠者法案”,该法案保护捐赠者免于承担捐赠或捐赠产品的责任。在此之后,更多的北德克萨斯人受到鼓舞而捐款。

近 40 年后的今天,NTFB 仍然得到一个慷慨而富有同情心的社区的支持,该社区非常关心帮助北德克萨斯人实现粮食安全。随着多年来饥饿危机的加剧,NTFB 已从每年分发 400,000 磅的食物扩大到上一财年分发的 1.25 亿份餐食——比我们历史上任何时候都多——通过其超过 200 名合作伙伴的供餐网络机构。 

在我们纪念为面临饥饿的邻居服务 40 周年之际,我们知道需求比以往任何时候都大。 COVID-19 大流行导致并暴露了我们社区前所未有的粮食不安全状况。据供养美国称,大约 800,000 名北德克萨斯人不知道他们的下一顿健康餐来自哪里——包括五分之一的儿童。北德克萨斯州是全美粮食最不安全地区第 6 位。

NTFB 致力于提供 今天的食物和明天的希望 随着我们继续朝着创建无饥饿和健康的北德克萨斯的愿景而努力。

北德克萨斯食品银行是美国养活组织的认证成员和最大的八家组织 食品银行网络。 Feeding America 是美国最大的国内饥饿救济组织,它从国家供应商那里征集食品和杂货产品,通过 200 多家食品银行进行分发,并为食品银行提供运营支持。它还就持续存在的饥饿问题对公众和政府官员进行教育。

About Us

Founded in 1982, the North Texas Food Bank (NTFB) is a nonprofit hunger relief organization that distributes donated and purchased foods through a network of more than 200 Partner Agencies in 13 counties.

Our History

In 1982, four Dallas women pledged to fight hunger in North Texas. These visionary leaders – Jo Curtis, Kathryn Hall, Lorraine Griffin Kircher, and Liz Minyard – began collecting and distributing donations of surplus food and grocery products through a network of charitable organizations across North Texas, establishing the North Texas Food Bank (NTFB). 

This network covered 13 counties that comprise the current NTFB service area: Dallas, Denton, Collin, Fannin, Rockwall, Hunt, Grayson, Kaufman, Ellis, Navarro, Lamar, Delta, and Hopkins

Through persistence and generous community support, in its first year, the NTFB distributed more than 400,000 pounds of food to our neighbors experiencing hunger. In 1983, members of NTFB’s organizing committee joined members of the Texas Legislature to help pass the Good Faith Donor Act, which protected donors from liability of donations or donated product. After this, many more North Texans were inspired to donate.

Today, nearly 40 years later, the NTFB is still supported by a generous and compassionate community that cares deeply about helping North Texans achieve food security. As the hunger crisis has grown over the years, NTFB has expanded from distributing 400,000 pounds of food a year to distributing 125 million meals in its last fiscal year – more annual meals than ever in our history – through its Feeding Network of more than 200 Partner Agencies. 

As we commemorate our 40th anniversary of serving our neighbors facing hunger, we know the need is greater than it has ever been. The COVID-19 pandemic has both caused and exposed an unprecedented level of food insecurity in our community. According to Feeding America, approximately 800,000 North Texans do not know where their next healthy meal will come from – including 1 in 5 children. North Texas the 6th most food insecure region in the nation.

The NTFB is committed to providing Food for Today and Hope for Tomorrow as we continue to work toward our vision of creating a hunger-free and healthy North Texas.

The North Texas Food Bank is a certified member of and the eight largest organization in the Feeding America Food Bank Network. Feeding America, the nation’s largest domestic hunger-relief organization, solicits food and grocery products from national suppliers, distributes them through more than 200 food banks and provides food banks with operational support. It also educates the public and government officials about the ongoing problem of hunger.